Ava and her bag of chocolates.

The other day our sweet Ava made a decision that was not the best of decisions. In this she was punished What made it even worse for Christi and I, it was her birthday. We believe in discipline but on the day of her birthday it made it difficult. But if we have learned anything in doing what God has called us to do, follow through is very important in the context of discipline, especially with our sweet little Ava.

Later that same day, her friend brought her over a present which included a bag of chocolates. Our Ava loves chocolate and it is so very sweet when a friend knows your likes and dislikes.

As we were getting ready for bed, Ava pops in our room with the bag of chocolates in her hand saying, “Mom, I want you to have these chocolates.”

Quickly we recognized what she was doing, Ava wanted to make things right, it was her peace offering. Christi and I looked at each other, and then I spoke for the both of us.

“Ava, that is very sweet of you to want to give your birthday chocolates to Mom, but please understand sweetie, just because you made a mistake today, doesn’t mean you have to try to make mom and dad happy by giving us something. We love you sweetie and when you make mistakes we may be disappointed but that does not mean we love you any less. You are our girl.”

You should have seen the relief on her face. Some would say that it was from her getting to keep her chocolates, but I believe it was the realization that her mom and dad love her deeply through the ups and downs in life.

As I thought about this later that night, I realized I do the same thing with God. When I sin or fall short in some way, I try to make a “peace offering” by making empty promises to make myself feel better or reinstate myself in His hand. When in reality, He cannot love me any more or LESS than the day I became His child.

Live in His love, eternal love.

Leave a comment